Types of depression

Depression is categorised as a Mood Disorder, consisting of Depressive Disorders and Bipolar Disorders.  The classification of Depressive Disorder has changed over the years, and while the medical field uses categorisation to assist in identification and treatment of depression, it should be noted that a diagnosis is not set in stone. For example, some types of Depressive Disorders morph into other categories over time.

Also, those who suffer from a particular type of Depressive Disorder can experience very different symptoms to the next person. In many instances, individuals experience depression in very different ways.

Depressive Disorders can include:

  • Major Depressive Disorder (including major depressive episode) (MDD)
  • Persistent Depressive Disorders (also known as Dysthymia) (PDD)
  • Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder (DMDD)
  • Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder (PDD)
  • Substance / Medication-induced Depressive Disorder
  • Depressive Disorder due to another medical condition
  • Specified and Unspecified Depressive Disorders